• Home   /  
  • Archive by category "1"

George B Dantzig Dissertation Award

Harry Groenevelt (left) and INFORMS President Ed Kaplan (right) flank Eoin O’Mahony.

Eoin O’Mahony (Cornell University, now at Uber) was presented the 2016 George B. Dantzig Dissertation Award from INFORMS for the dissertation, “Smarter Tools for (Citi) Bike Sharing.” Committee chair Harry Groenevelt presented the award at INFORMS Annual Meeting in Nashville, Tenn.

The award honors the best dissertation in any area of operations research and the management sciences that is innovative and relevant to practice. The award is designed to encourage academic research that combines theory and practice and stimulates greater interaction between doctoral students (and their advisors) and the world of practice.

Second place went to Pooyan Kazemian (University of Michigan, now at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School) for “Stochastic Control and Optimization for Chronic Disease Monitoring and Control, Hospital Staffing and Surgery Scheduling.”

Honorable mention went to Tugce Martagan (University of Wisconsin-Madison, now at Eindhoven University) for “Stochastic Models to Optimize Biomanufacturing Operations,” Vamsi Kanuri (University of Missouri, now at the University of Miami) for “Optimizing a Menu of Multi-Format Subscription Plans for Ad-Supported Media Platforms,” and Nathaniel Bastian (Penn State University, now at U.S. Army Human Resources Command) for “Multiple Criteria Decision Engineering to Support Management in Military Healthcare and Logistics Operations.”

2018 Committee Chair

Mor Armony
New York University
New York, NY 10003
email: marmony@stern.nyu.edu

2018 Committee Members

Mor Armony, New York University, 01/01/2017 - 12/31/2018
Wedad Elmaghraby, University of Maryland, 01/01/2016 - 12/31/2017
Taylor Randall, University of Utah, 01/01/2016 - 12/31/2017
Ton de Kok, University of Technology Eindhoven, 01/01/2016 - 12/31/2017
Adam Mersereau, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 01/01/2017 - 12/31/2018
Vineet Goyal, Columbia University, 1/1/2018 ‐ 12/31/2018
Karen Smilowitz, Northwestern University, 1/1/2018 ‐ 12/31/2019
Marcelo Olivares, University of Chile, 1/1/2018 ‐ 12/31/2019
Stefan Minner, Technische Universitä Müchen, 1/1/2018 ‐ 12/31/2019

Board Liaison: VP Membership & Professional Recognition (Susan Martonosi)
Staff Liaison: Prizes & Awards (Tracy Cahall)

For further information on this committee, please see Section 06 of the Policies & Procedures Manual.

One thought on “George B Dantzig Dissertation Award

Leave a comment

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *